Kelly Fager

My Internship with Ohio Farm Bureau Federation

Week 13 – Having a “Fairtastic” Time

on July 30, 2013

Talk about a crazy but “Fairtastic” time at the Ohio State Fair.  As of today we are officially half way through.  I have had many opportunities that I never thought I would have.  I have made many memories and friends for life!

Opening day was last Wednesday, July 24 and seems like this fair has been non-stop since then.  I am the intern in-charge of media so I have had the opportunity to be on several broadcasts and shows.  I have been on or hosted Town Hall Ohio, Ohio Ag Net, A Firm Foundation, NBC4, ABC6, Tom Wood show, Columbus Dispatch, Brownfield Ag News and others.  Being the media intern, I have learned that the alarm clock can go off very early and living on 4 hours of sleep will at some point in the day make you crash.  Being at the fairgrounds for a 4:30 AM broadcast seemed crazy but it definitely happened to me. I learned that not everything will go the way planned and improvising can be done.  I’ve learned that media and down pour rain means they will beg you to drive the golf cart faster.  I have learned that media will say X time and mean something completely different.  However, I truly have enjoyed my job doing media and being able to talk about the Ag & Hort building with agriculture being incorporated into the conversations.

New this year was the “Country Connection” stage in the Ag & Hort building.  These acts include anything from sheep shearing, Columbus Zoo, cooking demonstrations to much much more.  This year we had the honor to host the Joint Senate and House Agriculture Committee Hearing.  I was asked to testify on behalf of all OFBF interns and ambassadors to the committee.  I was able to speak to the 25 members of the committee with about 100 in attendance.  Although it was nerve wracking, I definitely was honored to have been chosen.

The ambassadors have been a lot of fun and are by far the hardest working people I know.  This year I was able to hire 29 ambassadors.  They staff anything from a virtual tractor, country cruise, remote control tractors, puppies, Agrium, photo opportunity, welcome booths and others.

I am very proud of the Ag & Hort building and feel fortunate to have had such a great intern team.  I may be exhausted and beginning to not like the fair but I am having a great time.   More days of fair means more interaction with the public about agriculture so I am ready!IMG_2277

Talking on Ohio Ag Net about the Ag & Hort building with Dale Minyo.

IMG_2329

Testifying on behalf of all OFBF interns and ambassadors for the Joint Senate and House Agriculture Committee Hearing.

 

 

My Media I’m Involved In:

http://ocj.com/2013/07/ohio-joint-house-and-senate-ag-hearing-during-ohio-state-fair/

http://www.dispatch.com/content/stories/business/2013/07/27/young-macdonalds.html

Digital Dale Email on July 25 that I’m featured in:

Good Morning Everyone
56 degrees this morning and looks like the potential for a rain event of some kind tomorrow.  From there a few more days at or just below 80.

There were quite a few folks at the fair with a sweatshirt or light jacket yesterday.  If you were out in the sun you didn’t need it but if you were in the ODNR area or in the buildings with a good breeze it was a nice addition to have.  The Nationwide Ag and Hort. Building is a very nice hands on destination for families.  Plenty to read and take in but even more to touch  and feel and experience.  That is the way we connect with folks said Kelly Fager Lead Intern for Farm Bureau in the building.  The corn wall was replaced by a stage and seating which has presentations including sheep shearing and the Columbus Zoo animals make several appearances.

 

You can still see the baby chicks and kids pedal a tractor through farm country but you also can drive a tractor through a simulator and make something at the soybean booth.  Be sure to stop in at the Nationwide Ag and Hort building.  Yes there is a Jumbo ice tea stand just out the west doors.

 

I will check out the butter sculpture today and get an up date from Jenny Hubble on the dairy promotion efforts going on in Ohio.  Oh yea and have some Ice Cream.

 

Leave a Reply

